

## Office Bearers of IAAT

- President Vice President(H Q) Vice President (OS) Secretary (HQ) Secretary (OS) Treasurer Councilors
- Prof. Alka Chaturvedi Prof. K. S. Manilal Prof. S. R. Yadav Prof. M. Sabu Dr. D. Narasimhan Dr. A. K. Pradeep
- Dr. Avishek Bhattacharjee Dr. P. Lakshmi Narasimhan Dr. Veenapani Dubey Prof. Aravind S. Dhabe Prof. V. S. Ramachandran Dr. T. Senthil Kumar
- Prof. A. K. Pandey Prof. Vatsavaya S. Raju Dr. P. V. Prasanna Dr. V. Devi Priya Dr. P. E. Rajasekharan Prof. M. K. Janarthanam

# **National Advisory Committee**

Executive Vice President, KSCSTE, Thiruvananthapuram Dr. Balakrishna Pisupathi, Chennai Dr. Madhubitha Biswas, New Delhi Member Secretary, KSCSTE, Thirivananthapuram Dr. M. Sanjappa, Bengaluru Dr. P. Pushpangadan, Thiruvananthapuram Dr. C. R. Babu, New Delhi, Dr. R. R. Rao, Bengaluru Dr. R. C. Mehrotra, Lucknow Dr. Mukund Sharma, Lucknow Dr. Suresh Kumar Pillai, Lucknow Prof. M. Sivadasan, Thrissur Dr. N. P. Balakrishnan. Coimbathore Dr. A. P. Das, Arunachal Pradesh Prof. K. G. Bhat, Uduppi Dr. A. G. Pandurangan, Thiruvananthapuram Prof. P. V. Madhusoodhanan, Kozhicode Dr. C. Sathishkumar, Thirivananthapuram Dr. V. P. Prasad, Kolkatta Dr. K. Narayanan Nair, Lucknow



Prof. K. S. Manilal

# Local Organizing Committee

Patron Chairman Co Chairman Organizing secretary Treasurer Members:

Dr. R. Prakashkumar Dr. N. Mohanan Dr. Mathew Dan Dr. M. Rajendraprasad Dr. G. Rajkumar Dr. C. Anilkumar Dr. R. Rajvikraman Dr. William De'cruze Dr. Sam P. Mathew Dr. A. K. Sreekala Dr. S. Shiburaj Dr. K. K. Sabu Dr. K. B. Rameshkumar



Address for Correspondence Dr. Mathew Dan Organising Secretary Senior Scientist & Head Plant Genetic Resource Division JNTBGRI, Palode, Thiruvananthapuram, Kerala 695 562 E mail: <u>iaat29@jntbgri.res.in</u> Phone: (O) 0472 2869226 (M) 9447730214



November 11 -13, 2019





Organised by Jawaharlal Nehru Tropical Botanic Garden and Research Institute Palode, Thiruvananthapuram, Kerala

Jeintly with Birbal Sahni Institute of Paleosciences Lucknow, U P



With profound delight, Jawaharlal Nehru Tropical Botanic Garden and Research Institute (JNTBGRI), Palode, Thiruvananthapuram will be organising the 29<sup>th</sup> Annual Conference of Indian Association for Angiosperm Taxonomy (IAAT) and National Symposium on 'Modern Trends in Biosystematics of Angiosperms' during 11<sup>th</sup> to 13<sup>th</sup> November 2019. Birbal Sahni Institute of Paleosciences, Lucknow will be the Joint-organizer of the event. JNTBGRI has hosted the 14<sup>th</sup> Annual Meeting of IAAT, at Thiruvananthapuram In 2004. At its 40<sup>th</sup> year of establishment, the Institute welcomes you all again to this scientific gathering, in the midst of an array of tropical plant diversity at Palode, Thiruvananthapuram, Kerala.

## About JNTBGRI

Jawaharlal Nehru Tropical Botanic Garden and Research Institute (JNTBGRI), established in 1979, is an institution under Kerala State Council for Science, Technology and Environment (KSCSTE). Situated around 40km away from Thiruvananthapuram, the capital city of Kerala, the Institute spreads over 300 acres in the foothills of Agastyamala Biosphere. Holding over 50,000 accessions of about 5,000 species, it is reckoned as the biggest conservatory garden in Asia. The uniqueness of JNTBGRI is that, it is a botanical garden with research activities pertained to diverse disciplines of plant science. The vision of the Institute is 'conservation and sustainable utilization of the plant diversity of India, particularly of the Western Ghats, for the well being of the people'.

### About IAAT

Indian Association for Angiosperm Taxonomy (IAAT), established in the year 1990, is the largest association of plant taxonomists of the country with over 850 life members. It is affiliated to International Association for Plant Taxonomy (IAPT). The Association is chiefly envisaged to cultivate and promote the science of Angiosperm Taxonomy in India. It also provides a common forum for angiosperm taxonomists in India for purposeful exchange of ideas through conferences, academic discussions, training programmes and publications. Worth mentioning is *Rheedea*, the biannual Official Journal of IAAT. The annual meetings of IAAT are celebrated by its members with true scientific spirit and enthusiasm.

### About the Symposium

The major component of the scientific programme of the symposium will be parallel sessions for oral and poster presentations on a wide range of topics by leading experts as well as young researchers. The deliberations will be on biosystematics, conservation of angiosperms, ethnobotany, floristics, modern trends in taxonomy etc. There will also be a special theme, 'Paleobotany on Angiosperm Taxonomy in Indian Context'. As part of its 40<sup>th</sup> year celebration, JNTBGRI is also organising a taxonomic exhibition 'Taxo-Ex 19', where novel and curious taxa, photographs, protologues and publications will be showcased.

### Themes

- Modern trends in angiosperm systematics
- Systematics and phylogeny of flowering plants
- Floristics, survey, phytogeography and conservation assessment
- Ethnobotany, Economically potential plants and Bioprospecting
- Climate change and Environment
- Paleobotany on Angiosperm Taxonomy in Indian Context
  (Special Theme)

## **Call for Abstracts**

Abstract should be limited to 250 words (excluding title of the paper, names of authors and affiliations) typed in Times New Roman (font size 12 with 1.5 spacing). The abstract prepared in MS word format should be uploaded along with the online Registration Form (www.jntbgri.res.in). The abstract will be reviewed by the committee and acceptance of papers for either oral or poster presentation shall be communicated to the authors. Size of the posters should be 90 x120 cm in portrait mode. Please avoid flex in order to follow green protocol.

### Awards

IAAT has constituted six awards for best presentations under various categories. There will be five awards for young scientists (below 40 years), and the upper age limit for M. Sabu Award is 45 years, as on date of submission of the abstract. Competing author should specify the name of the award applied for, at the top of the abstract. Participants who have





received an award earlier from IAAT are not eligible for the same award. A minimum of three entries are essential for holding the competition. Submission of Age Proof is essential along with the application.

Prof. Rolla S. Rao Award : Prof. K. S. Manilal Award : Prof. T. R. Sahu Award : Prof. S. R. Yadav Award : Fr. Anthony Mukkath -K. S. Manilal Award : Prof. M. Sabu Award :

- Biodiversity Conservation (Angiosperms) Floristics
- : Medicinal Plants Systematics
  - Poster Presentation
  - Modern Techniques in Plant Taxonomy
- : Angiosperm Taxonomy (for Teachers and Scientists)

## Registration

The Registration may be done online at **www.jntbgri.res.in**. Please note that there will not be any Spot Registration.

# Mode of Payment

The Registration Fee may be remitted online to the Bank Account; details given below:

Account Name	:	Director, JNTBGRI	
Bank & Branch	:	SBI, Palode	
Account Number	:	38340030071	
IFSC Code	:	SBIN0070523	
MICR Code	:	695002971	

F	Registration Fee		
(	Category	Before 31 <sup>st</sup> August 2019	1- 31 <sup>st</sup> September 2019
l	AAT members	₹ 3,750	₹ 4,500
1	Non IAAT members	₹ 5,000	₹ 6,000
F	Research scholars	₹ 2,750	₹ 3,500
F	From industry	₹ 10,000	₹ <b>12,000</b>
ŀ	Accompanying perso	on ₹4,500	₹ 5,500

### Accommodation

Moderate accommodation will be provided in Guest Houses and Hostels in a first come first serve basis, subjected to the availability. Arrangements for Hotel accommodation will be done on request, with additional payment.