

A report on the XXXI Annual Conference of the Indian Association for Angiosperm Taxonomy (IAAT) and the Inter national Conference on the Documentation, Bioprospecting and Biodiversity Conservation for Sustainable Development

The XXXI Annual Conference of the Indian for Angiosperm Association Taxonomy (IAAT) and the International Conference on 'Documentation, Bioprospecting and Biodiversity Conservation for Sustainable Development' was organized by Dr. D.Y. Patil Unitech Society's Dr. D.Y. Patil Arts, Commerce and Science College, Akurdi, at Yash Resort, Kalsubai-Harishchandragad Wildlife Sanctuary, Akole, Maharashtra from 5 to 7 April 2022. The conference was organized under the guidance of the Hon'ble Dr. P.D. Patil, Chancellor of Dr. D.Y. Patil Vidyapeeth and Dr. Somnathdada Patil, Organizing Chairman and Secretary of Dr. D.Y. Patil Unitech Society. The inaugural function was presided over by Dr. Ashio Mao, Director, Botanical Survey of India, and inaugurated by the Hon'ble Dr. N.S. Umrani, Pro-Vice Chancellor of Savitribai Phule Pune University, Pune. The Organizing Secretary of the XXXI IAAT Conference and Principal Dr. D. Y. Patil Arts, Commerce & Science College, Akurdi, Dr. Mohan Waman introduced the program and welcomed the participants.

HEEDE

Journal of the Indian Association for Angiosperm Taxonomy



Vruksha-Pujan on the occasion of the inaugural function.



Dr. Ashio Mao, Director, Botanical Survey of India, Kolkata delivering the keynote address.

The programme started with the *Vruksha-Pujan* where the entire dais worshiped the Banyan plant and symbolically inaugurated the program with the lamp lightning ceremony. Prof. Santhosh Nampy, Secretary of the IAAT, summarized the objectives and activities of the IAAT. Dr. N. Sasidharan, President of the IAAT, in his address focussed on the importance of taxonomic studies for the conservation of biodiversity. Prof. S.R. Yadav, Mr. Randive and Dr. Mahendra Khyade felicitated the gathering. Dr. Mukesh Tiwary expressed the vote of thanks.

The inaugural function was followed by the keynote address by Dr. Ashio Mao, and Dr. Ashok Giri (Senior Scientist, National Chemical Lab, Pune). In his keynote speech, Dr. Ashio Mao highlighted the importance of local information and emphasized the fact that local people should be taken into consideration while researching plants or biodiversity in general of a particular region. Dr. Ashok Giri in his address on exploring the plant metabolite diversity for bio-prospecting and sustainable development explained the ecological experiments conducted at the National Chemical Laboratory.



Release of the abstract book of the XXXI IAAT conference.

The technical session of the three days conference began with the Prof. Y.D. Tiagi Gold Medal lecture delivered by Prof. S.R. Yadav, Emiritus Scientist, Shivaji University, Kolhapur, on "My Journey of Plants". This was followed by Prof. V.V. Sivarajan Gold Medal lecture presented by Dr. Debabrata Maity, Assistant Professor, University of Culcutta, West Bengal, on the topic "Mountain flora of Sikkim Himalaya". Prof. S.R. Rao, Department of Biotechnology and Bioinformatics, North Eastern Hill University, Shillong, delivered the Prof. Kameswara Rao Endowment lecture on "Integrated approaches of morphology, chromosomes and DNA analysis to unravel phylogenetic relationships of some horticultural plants". Invited lectures were delivered by Dr. Y.M. Jayraj (former Vice Chancellor & Chief Advisor to the Chancellor, Dr. D.Y. Patil Vidyapeeth Deemed-to-be-University, Pune), Dr. Sachin Punekar (Biospheres, Pune), Dr. Narasimhan (Malabar Christian College (Retd.), Chennai), Dr. Arvind S. Dabe (Dr. Babasaheb Ambedkar Marathwada University, Aurangabad), Dr. Ritesh Kumar Choudhary (Agharkar Research Institute, Pune), Suchandra Dutta (National Dr. College, Maharasthra), and Dr. Sunojkumar (Calicut University, Kerala).

The Executive Body meeting of the IAAT was held at the Yash Resort on 5 April 2022. The General Body meeting of the IAAT took place on 6 April 2022 at Ratangad Hall of Kalsubai-Harishchandragad Wildlife Sanctuary, Yash Resort.

A total of 107 oral and 25 poster presentations were given in the following thematic areas: 1. Systematics of flowering plants, 2. Modern trends and techniques in plant taxonomy, 3. Biodiversity assessment and conservation, 4. Phytogeography, endemism and threatened plants, 5. Ethnobotany and medicinal plants, and 6. Bioprospecting and



Felicitation to Dr. Prabha Bhogaonkar, senior member of the IAAT.

sustainable utilization. A total of 250 participants from various Universities and Research Institutes of India have taken part in the in the conference making it a grand event.

Six awards, namely K.S. Manilal Award, Rolla S. Rao Award, T.R. Sahu Award, Fr. Antony Mukkath-K.S. Manilal Award, Prof. M. Sabu Award and S.R.Yadav Award are given at every annual conference for the best paper and the best poster by the IAAT. Following is the list of awards and awardees of of this year's conference:

K.S. Manilal Award for best paper in Floristics (New species/New Reports): Ms. Jeomol K.K. (University of Calicut, Kerala).

Rolla S. Rao Award for best paper in Biodiversity Conservation: Dr. Shinoj K. (University of Calicut, Kerala).

T.R. Sahu Award for best paper in Ethnobotany and Medicinal Plants: Ms. Kamartaha I. Saiyed (The Maharaja Sayajirao University, Vadodara). **S.R. Yadav Award** for best poster presentation: Ms. Ashna Toms (University of Calicut, Kerala).

Fr. Antony Mukkath-K.S. Manilal Award for best paper in Modern Techniques in Plant Taxonomy: Satishkumar Maurya (Agharkar Research Institute, Pune).

M. Sabu Award for best paper in Angiosperm Taxonomy (for teachers and scientists): Dr. Anna Ancy Antony (St. Albert's College, Kerala).

A field visit was organized on the evening of the second day of the conference, where the participants visited the Ghatghar Bhandardara Dam, Umbrella Fall, Bhandardara backwater area and other parts of Kalsubai-Harishchandragad



IAAT award winners with dignitaries.



Participants of the XXXI IAAT Conference and International seminar.

Wildlife Sanctuary. It was a great opportunity for the participants to observe the beauty and richness of the sanctuary.

The conference was sponsored by the Botanical Survey of India, Kolkata, Rise n' Shine Biotech Pvt Ltd., Maharashtra, Maharashtra State Biodiversity Board, Maharashtra and the D.Y. Patil Unitech Society, Pune.

The valedictory function took place on 7 April 2022. Eminent persons from the field of taxonomy were present for this event. Dr. N. Sasidharan, President of the IAAT, chaired the function, Dr. S.R. Yadav, Vice President of the IAAT, Prof. Santhosh Nampy, Secretary

(Head Quarters), Dr. D. Narsimhan, Secretary (Out Station) and Dr. Milind Sardesai, Head, Department of Botany, Savitribai Phule Pune University, Pune were present on the dais. Prof. Santhosh Nampy announced the winners for the six awards which were presented during the valedictory function. Dr. Mohan Waman, Organizing Secretary of the conference proposed the vote of thanks. The participants unanimously acknowledged and appreciated the excellent organization of the conference.

> Dr. Mohan Waman Organizing Secretary D.Y. Patil Arts, Commerce & Science College, Akrudi, Pune